ts are suspended for the time beingDurlston public events are currently cancelled

Public Astronomy Events at Durlston in 2022

Talk, plus observing using various telescopes

Wed 9 March 7.30pm – Moon, Star clusters, Orion Nebula, Galaxies, Winter constellations (1st qtr Moon)

Sat 26 March 7.30pm – Star clusters, Orion Nebula, Galaxies, Spring constellations (No Moon)

Fri 22 Apr – CANCELLED due to poor forecast.

Summer Gap

Friday 12 August 9.00pm – Perseid meteors, Saturn and the summer constellations. (school hols, Sun sets 8.15, Moonrise 21:45, Saturn 14 degrees by 10pm)

Saturday 13 August 9.00pm – Perseid meteors, Saturn and the summer constellations. (school hols, Sun sets 8.15, Moonrise 21:45, Saturn 14 degrees by 10pm)[two days to reduce numbers and give option for visitors changing over on the Saturday]

Sunday 4th September 8.15 pm – Moon, Jupiter, Saturn ans summer constellations (Sun sets 7.45, no Moon)

Saturday 17 September 8 pm – Jupiter, Saturn, Andromeda galaxy, nebulae, Milky Way, Autumn Constellations. (Sun sets 7.15, no Moon)

Saturday 1 October 7.30 pm – Moon, Jupiter, Saturn, Andromeda galaxy, star clusters, Autumn Constellations. (Sun sets 6.40, 7-day Moon)

Saturday 15 October 7.30pm – Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Andromeda galaxy, Milky Way, Autumn Constellations. (Mars rises 9pm and the Moon shortly after)

Friday 4 Nov 7.30pm – Moon, Mars, Saturn, Jupiter, Andromeda galaxy, Autumn Constellations. (9-day Moon, Mars 13 degrees by 8.30)

Friday 18 November 7.30pm – Leonid meteors, Mars, Jupiter, Andromeda galaxy, Orion Nebula, Autumn Constellations. (Mars nearing its closest -17arc-seconds)

Wed 14 December 7.30pm – Geminid meteors, Mars, Jupiter, Orion Nebula, Autumn Constellations. (Saturn sets 8.45, 10 degrees at 7.30)

Average Rating

5 Star
0%
4 Star
0%
3 Star
0%
2 Star
0%
1 Star
0%